Skip to content
Halton Counts — Halton, in numbers.Local help →

Halton, in numbers

People and living standards

Halton council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Halton council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 124,801 in 1991 to 131,912 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Halton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 121,778 people in 1996; 131,912 people in 2025. 8.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Halton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991124,801
1992124,201
1993123,766
1994122,788
1995122,151
1996121,778
1997120,895
1998120,212
1999119,552
2000119,126
2001118,559
2002118,788
2003119,178
2004119,960
2005120,396
2006121,275
2007122,040
2008122,907
2009123,636
2010124,802
2011125,722
2012125,596
2013125,889
2014126,335
2015126,464
2016126,851
2017127,038
2018127,873
2019128,456
2020128,508
2021128,570
2022129,362
2023130,202
2024131,247
2025131,912
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Halton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,398 people in 1996; 24,078 people in 2025. 15.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Halton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199130,020
199229,812
199329,734
199429,420
199528,903
199628,398
199727,799
199827,255
199926,842
200026,283
200125,683
200225,379
200325,070
200424,933
200524,783
200624,791
200724,693
200824,711
200924,674
201024,785
201124,852
201224,771
201324,946
201424,939
201524,880
201624,860
201724,904
201825,001
201925,011
202024,763
202124,492
202224,470
202324,430
202424,312
202524,078
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Halton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 77,587 people in 1996; 82,017 people in 2025. 5.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Halton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199179,366
199278,831
199378,421
199477,742
199577,452
199677,587
199777,384
199877,301
199976,942
200076,897
200176,825
200277,309
200377,846
200478,658
200579,079
200679,777
200780,358
200880,920
200981,281
201081,908
201182,222
201281,237
201380,697
201480,475
201580,170
201679,917
201779,610
201879,916
201980,021
202080,092
202179,902
202280,381
202380,928
202481,506
202582,017
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Halton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,793 people in 1996; 25,817 people in 2025. 63.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Halton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,415
199215,558
199315,611
199415,626
199515,796
199615,793
199715,712
199815,656
199915,768
200015,946
200116,051
200216,100
200316,262
200416,369
200516,534
200616,707
200716,989
200817,276
200917,681
201018,109
201118,648
201219,588
201320,246
201420,921
201521,414
201622,074
201722,524
201822,956
201923,424
202023,653
202124,176
202224,511
202324,844
202425,429
202525,817
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 128,478 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Halton · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,4361.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5110.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,7911.4%
White123,97696.5%
Other ethnic group7640.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 125,746 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Halton · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White123,04197.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,3561.1%
Asian/Asian British9430.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2600.2%
Other ethnic group1460.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 118,208 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Halton · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White116,78398.8%
Mixed7050.6%
Asian/Asian British2730.2%
Black/Black British1320.1%
Chinese/Other3150.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 17% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Halton council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,665 per person in 1997; £21,540 per person in 2024. 148.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Halton council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,665
19988,849
19999,378
200010,128
200110,612
200210,816
200311,209
200411,609
200512,034
200612,400
200713,042
200813,292
200913,722
201013,754
201113,798
201214,233
201314,648
201414,956
201515,671
201616,021
201716,805
201817,428
201917,723
202017,879
202118,336
202218,862
202320,139
202421,540
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Halton council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -18.3% in 1997; -17% in 2024. 1.3 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Halton council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-18.3
1998-18.3
1999-17.1
2000-14.9
2001-14.2
2002-14.5
2003-14
2004-14.5
2005-14.4
2006-15.3
2007-15
2008-15.6
2009-14.3
2010-14.8
2011-15.3
2012-15.7
2013-16.4
2014-17.3
2015-17.6
2016-16.8
2017-14.7
2018-14.6
2019-15.9
2020-14.8
2021-16.1
2022-17.9
2023-17.6
2024-17
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.5%

21 March 2021 · Halton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

23.3%

21 March 2021 · Halton council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21%

21 March 2021 · Halton council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.7%

21 March 2021 · Halton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£195,000

July 2026 · Halton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£749

August 2026 · Halton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.